

MASTER'S HOODING CEREMONY

Hendricks Chapel Saturday, May 10, 2025





Program

PRELUDE AND PROCESSIONAL

Ivan Bosnar, Instructor, Applied Music and Performance (Organ)

WELCOME AND REMARKS

Michael S. Tick, Dean

STUDENT ADDRESS

Faizat Oladunni Asifat G'25

HOODING CEREMONY

Michael S. Tick, Dean

Stephanie Jensen-Moulton, Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs Seyeon Lee, Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives and Research

Martha Sutter, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs

Robert Wysocki, Director, School of Art

Rachel Dubrofsky, Chair, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Jennifer DeLucia, Chair, Department of Creative Arts Therapy

Emily Stokes-Rees, Director, School of Design

David Tarleton, Chair, Department of Film and Media Arts

Milton Rubén Laufer, Director, Setnor School of Music

ALMA MATER

Syracuse University Alma Mater Junius W. Stevens, Class of 1895

RECESSIONAL

Ivan Bosnar, Instructor, Applied Music and Performance (Organ)

Please note that the names in this program are not an official listing of degree recipients. Students must be certified for their degrees after the posting of their final grades. Only those students who filed their diploma request by April 7, 2025 are included in this publication.

TENTATIVE LIST OF GRADUATES

SCHOOL OF ART

Lottie Caiella Feiyang Liu Hanyu Shi Zhen Wang Marguerita Neil Mattern Ruilin Shi Kaicheng Yang Cruz-Urbanc Hui Oi Kara Stallings Jingya Zhang Kirstin Dunlap Athena Grace lingyang Zhou Tong Su

Jalal Ghias BeygiSchamowskiJoseph TroxlerCancan JinEmma SchwartzKevin Wade

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

Faizat Oladunni Asifat Connor Knowlan Jerome Pearson
Ash Cavalcanti Caecilie Kathrine Andrea Tapia Cera

Mary Hanrahan Paarup Madsen

DEPARTMENT OF CREATIVE ARTS THERAPY

Elisabeth Baird Carrie Christian Bennie Guzman

Emily Bulthuis Alison Fox

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

Ohoud Alfadhli Maeve Donnelly Paola Manzano Jeremy Wollman

Mary Cooper Sofia Gabaldon Paola Mendez Soto

Mary Cooper Sofia Gabaldon Paola Mendez Soto
Molly Dano Samantha Hefti Wanda-Marie Rana
Saanika Jeet Dhillon Danuta Hryn Hannah Riley

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

Monae Sims Ashique Vazhayil Kyle Bason Weijia liang Valery Sov Samantha Bray Rick Li Shahir Michael Wilcox Luca Higonnet-Yushan Liu Tripty Tamang Faithfull Meilin Luo Pakhrin Nikou Zabihi Tevvon Hines Yukang Tao Rvan Mitchell Yuping Zeng

Shokoofeh Jabbari Alexandria Morgan Qianli Tian

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Nykara Agosto Georgia Herrera Griffin O'Neill lose Suarez Christian Allemang Danni Huang Synjona Paplekaj **Grace Templeton** Elizabeth Bishop Somi Jeon Olivia Peters Victoria Thompson Miles Boone Daniel Klosowski Andrew Phan Parth Wadke Bora Koka Donald Pickell Colin Connolly Abigail Yaffe

Jihang DaiStephen MackBrandon PorterSarah DravesBenjamin O'ConnellAhmanee SimmonsRolando GomezJustin OeiJulianne Stein

Awards

SCHOOL OF ART

GEORGE J. VANDER SLUIS AWARD

For an outstanding graduate student in painting

Emma Schwartz (2024 and 2025) Joseph Troxler (2025)

BRUCE MANWARING AWARD

For a deserving student in lithography
Kirstin Dunlap

MARION BEHR AWARD

For a printmaking student

Neil Mattern

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION & RHETORICAL STUDIES

J. CALVIN CALLAGHAN GRADUATE STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

For second-year graduate students who are enrolled in preparing for future faculty programs

Faizat Oladunni Asifat

DEPARTMENT OF CREATIVE ARTS THERAPY

EXCELLENCE IN ART THERAPY AWARD

For outstanding academic achievement, demonstrated leadership qualities, and a commitment to advocacy

Emily Bulthuis

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

THE CATLIN PRIZE IN MUSEUM STUDIES

Master's Prize

Samantha Hefti

DEPARTMENT OF FILM & MEDIA ARTS

MFA SHOW AWARD

To a graduate student participating in the annual spring MFA show and whose work exhibits excellence in their respective practices

Tripty Tamang Pakhrin Shokoofeh Jabbari

PHILIP K. DAVIS AWARD

For a third-year graduate student with outstanding creative and academic achievement in film

Shokoofeh Jabbari Weijia Jiang

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

EVALINA VERNON HONSINGER AND NORMA CHAPIN HONSINGER PRIZE

For excellent performance on the piano

Danni Huang

HIRA PONCHA ENDOWED AWARD

For an undergraduate or graduate pianist

Synjona Paplekaj

BRIAN ISRAEL AWARD

For an outstanding student composer

Rolando Gomez

MARION ARMSTRONG AWARD

For excellence in musical performance

Danni Huang

IRENE L. CROOKER MUSIC AWARD

For demonstrated excellence in music

Synjona Paplekaj

ACADEMIC MUSIC AWARD

For outstanding work in a paper, lecture or research

Julianne Stein

EARL GEORGE AWARD IN CHORAL MUSIC

For excellence in choral music

Donald Pickell

CAROL HALL NICHOL MEMORIAL PRIZE

For a student majoring in classical voice |ulianne Stein

PATTITHOMPSON BUECHNER AWARD

For an outstanding vocal student

Julianne Stein