Awards

SCHOOL OF ART

GEORGE VANDERSLUIS AWARD

For an outstanding graduate student in painting

Douglas Johnson Kevin Frazier

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

J. CALVIN CALLAGHAN GRADUATE STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

For second-year graduate students who are enrolled in preparing for future faculty programs

Harrison Lucas

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

M.F.A. DESIGN AWARD

Master's Prize

Ting Kang

THE CATLIN PRIZE IN MUSEUM STUDIES

For an exceptional graduating student in the M.A. museum studies program

Kelli Fisher

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

BRYAN J. BUCKLEY AWARD

For winning entry in film competition

Francisca Lopez Gallardo

PHILIP K. DAVIS AWARD

For a third-year graduate student for final film

Sam Azghandi

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

HIRA PONCHA ENDOWED AWARD

For a pianist

Oldet Ibo

Christopher Spinelli

EARL GEORGE AWARD IN CHORAL MUSIC

For excellence in choral music

Riley McCurdy

IRENE L. CROOKER MUSIC AWARD

For demonstrated excellence in music

Jonathan Harrity

SIMEON POPOV MEMORIAL AWARD

For an outstanding orchestral musician

Jonathan Harrity

ACADEMIC MUSIC AWARD

For outstanding work in a paper, lecture or research

Amanda Greenbacker-Mitchell Lindsay Kasmer

CIVIC MORNING MUSICALS AWARD

For excellence in musical performance

Christopher Spinelli

SETNOR PERFORMANCE AWARD FOR WINDS AND PERCUSSION

For demonstrated excellence in performance by a wind or percussion student

Elizabeth Schmidt

SETNOR FACULTY AWARD

For students who made the greatest contribution to the Setnor School of Music

Christopher Spinelli

CAROL HALL NICHOL MEMORIAL PRIZE

For a student majoring in classical voice

Lindsey Bartlett

College of Visual & Performing Arts



Hendricks Chapel Saturday, May 14, 2022





Program

PRELUDE AND PROCESSIONAL

Fugue in E-flat, BWV 552/II Trumpet Tune in D Major Anne Laver, University Organist J. S. Bach (1685-1750) David N. Johnson (1922-1987)

WELCOME AND REMARKS

Michael S. Tick, Dean

STUDENT ADDRESS

Jonathan Harrity G'22

HOODING CEREMONY

Michael S. Tick, Dean

Elisa Dekaney, Associate Dean, Research, Graduate Studies, and Internationalization

Martha Sutter, Incoming Interim Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Robert Wysocki, Director, School of Art

Charles E. Morris III, Chair, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Emily Stokes-Rees, Director, School of Design

Ralph Lorenz, Interim Chair, Department of Film and Media Arts

Milton Rubén Laufer, Director, Setnor School of Music

CLOSING REMARKS

London Ladd G'22

ALMA MATER

Syracuse University Alma Mater Junius W. Stevens, Class of 1895

RECESSIONAL

Toccata sopra "Nun freut euch" Anne Laver, University Organist Lionel Rogg (b. 1936)

Please note that the names in this program are not an official listing of degree recipients. Students must be certified for their degrees after the posting of their final grades. Only those students who filed their diploma request by April 15, 2022 are included in this publication.

TENTATIVE LIST OF GRADUATES

SCHOOL OF ART

Harold Caldwell	Michael Kalish	Yanyi Liu	Moesha Wright
Yunfan Chen	London Ladd	Jessica Oh	Kaicheng Yang
Zhiying Chen	Muge Li	Valeria Oha	Yuru Zheng
Kevin Frazier	Jiarong Lin	Andrea Osby	Shuoran Zhou
Douglas Johnson	Xuan Liu	Braeden Raymer	Leah Zinder

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

Macklin Brigham	Harrison Lucas	Jack Sather
Christopher Knievel	Shewit Mikael	Lauren Wiener
Maria Larcomb	Yiging Ran	Hanyuan Zhang

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

Francesca Antonello	Kelli Fisher	Kayden Miller	Brielle Popolla
Paul Cohen	Ting Kang	Tiffany Miller	Molly Wight
Ximeng Deng	Savannah Kelly	Elizabeth Norman	
Iulia Dudley	Alexandra Michalski	Kelsey Olney-Wall	

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

Sam Azghandi	Sierra Haynes	Xuan Liu	Tao Wang
Patrick Boehmcke	Jana Herman	Francisca Lopez Gallardo	Haolun Xu
Aaron Burleson	Tamara Jordan	Lebogang Matseke	Tsung Ju Yang
Anthony Filosi	Doo Rim Kim	Nadiya Nacorda	Zhu Zhu
Manya Gadhok	Alexandra Kulick	Daotian Wang	Michael Zuhorski

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Maya Abrams	Michael Fedczuk	Max Marcy	Elizabeth Schmidt
Lindsey Bartlett	Ethan Fields	Jayde Martin	Devin Schuessler
Lingyin Cao	Amanda	Riley McCurdy	Delaney Shaffer
Sarah Caporin	Greenbacker-Mitchell	Keina McCutchen	Ramona Singh
Danielle Carter	Scott Greenblatt	Andrew Morro	Christopher Spinelli
Sean Clark	Jonathan Harrity	Matthew Nardone	Joseph Winslow
Matthew Clemens	Liam Hines	Gillian Pelkonen	Shane Wright
Sebastian Conde	Oldet Ibo	Nicholas Peta	Chenrui Zhang
Robert Cox	Christian Jaquay	Nicholas Piato	
Thomas Culeton	Lindsay Kasmer	Matthew Quezada	
Chase Duffin	Crystal Lee	Evan Roberts	