

MASTER'S HOODING CEREMONY

Hendricks Chapel Saturday, May 13, 2023





Program

PRELUDE AND PROCESSIONAL

Dieterich Buxtehude Praeludium in C. BuxWV 137 Prelude to Te Deum Marc-Antoine Charpentier

Anne Laver, Assistant Professor and University Organist

WELCOME AND REMARKS

Michael S. Tick, Dean

STUDENT ADDRESS

Mmakgosi Anita Tau G'23

HOODING CEREMONY

Michael S. Tick, Dean

Elisa Dekaney, Associate Dean, Research, Graduate Studies, and Internationalization

Martha Sutter, Interim Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Robert Wysocki, Director, School of Art

Rachel Hall, Interim Chair, Department of Communication and Rhetorical Studies

Emily Stokes-Rees, Director, School of Design

Susannah Sayler, Interim Chair, Department of Film and Media Arts

Milton Rubén Laufer, Director, Setnor School of Music

CLOSING REMARKS

Amarachi Attamah G'23

ALMA MATER

Syracuse University Alma Mater Iunius W. Stevens, Class of 1895

RECESSIONAL

Prelude in F Major Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel

Anne Laver, Assistant Professor and University Organist

Please note that the names in this program are not an official listing of degree recipients. Students must be certified for their degrees after the posting of their final grades. Only those students who filed their diploma request by April 7, 2023 are included in this publication.

TENTATIVE LIST OF GRADUATES

SCHOOL OF ART

Mengru Zhou Yuanjing Chu **Daisy Wiley** Zherong Hu liayun Xu Feimo Zhu

Lingvin Luo Anika Zetterberg Xiaodi Zhang Rumpelstiltskin

Morgan

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

Stephanie Baquero Aranveer Litt **Gabriel Tomas** O'Rourke **Easton Draut** Kerry Mess Ashlev Hav Ravana Weller Timothy Michowski

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

Stephanie Adams Austine Emifonive Samaya Nasr Madelaine Thomas Kai Patricio Devon Vander Voort Calista Amarachi Ting Kang Amaan Khan Rabia Razzag Madeline Whitacre Attamah Zhiru Chen Courtney Levings Lisa Soltren Taylor Wood

Ai Ni Cheng **Qingyue Song** Hao Lu

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

Sam Azghandi David Garcia De Lira William Trent Evan Bode Welstead Qianjin Men Wanda-Marie Rana lason Eppink Qian Zhang

Madison Karten

Manya Gadhok Mmakgosi AnitaTau

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

Thomas Culeton

Michael Alessie Asriel Davis Vanessa Lora Keidi Sada loseph Arcuri Iacob Dean Micayla MacDougall Hannah Scarborough Morgan Beaton Cal Dougherty Giovanna Maropo Gabriel Spivey Aidan Flwell Peri Bernstein Patrick Mullen Margaret Strehle Richard Zakarvah Laura Freeman Tales Navarro Mary Tehan Bouldin-Herrera Lillian Goetzman Ioshua Nightingale Seth Velez Micah Patt Jaclyn Breeze Alexander Guiliano Yingxi Zhang Timothy Cato **lustin Hess** Luan Phan Yiyi Zhang Robert Child Iohan Hoxha Haotong Qin Huiling Zhao Stacey Clark Owen Hucke Anthony Romagnuolo Hong Zheng

McKenzie Rybka

Awards

SCHOOL OF ART

GEORGE VANDERSLUIS AWARD

For an outstanding graduate student in painting

Mengru Zhou

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION AND RHETORICAL STUDIES

J. CALVIN CALLAGHAN GRADUATE STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

For second-year graduate students who are enrolled in preparing for future faculty programs

Kerry Mess

SCHOOL OF DESIGN

M.F.A. DESIGN AWARD

Master's Prize

Rabia Razzaq

THE CATLIN PRIZE IN MUSEUM STUDIES

For an exceptional graduating student in the M.A. museum studies program

Samaya Nasr

DEPARTMENT OF FILM AND MEDIA ARTS

PHILIP K. DAVIS AWARD

For a third-year graduate student for final film

Mmakgosi AnitaTau

SETNOR SCHOOL OF MUSIC

IOANNA AND ROGER MOORE AWARD

For vocal excellence

McKenzie Rybka

PATTI THOMPSON BUECHNER AWARD

For an outstanding vocal student

Lillian Goetzman

EARL GEORGE AWARD IN CHORAL MUSIC

For excellence in choral music

Morgan Beaton Seth Velez

MORTON SCHIFF JAZZ AWARD

For outstanding jazz musician students

Anthony Romagnuolo

ACADEMIC MUSIC AWARD

For outstanding work in a paper, lecture or research

Stacey Clark Micah Patt

MARION ARMSTRONG AWARD

For excellence in musical performance

Asriel Davis

IRENE L. CROOKER MUSIC AWARD

For demonstrated excellence in music

Keidi Sada

SETNOR PERFORMANCE AWARD FOR WINDS, BRASS AND PERCUSSION

For demonstrated excellence in performance by an upperclass or graduate student

Margaret Strehle

SETNOR PERFORMANCE AWARD FOR STRINGS

For demonstrated excellence in performance by an upperclass or graduate student

Aidan Elwell Tales Navarro Johan Hoxha Keidi Sada

SIMEON POPOV MEMORIAL AWARD

For an outstanding orchestral musician

Alexander Guiliano Anthony Romagnuolo

EVALINA VERNON HONSINGER AND NORMA CHAPIN HONSINGER PRIZE

For excellent performance on the piano

Laura Freeman